How To Watch French Ligue 1 Football Live In The UK and US

61

Ligue 1 is back, and it looks set to be more exciting than ever. The eyes of the world will be on the top-flight of French football following the arrival of Lionel Messi. The Argentine superstar left Barcelona after spending his entire career at the Catalan club, and will now link up with former teammate Neymar at PSG.

Alongside Kylian Mbappé, the Parisians arguably boast the more formidable front three in world football. What’s more, Messi’s arrival is just one of several high-profile summer signings for PSG.

It makes Mauricio Pochettino’s side hot favourites to regain their title, after Lille won their first title in a decade in 2020-21. The likes of Marseille, Lyon, Monaco and Nice also look set to provide stiff opposition.

Here’s how to watch all the key matches from the UK and US, complete with English commentary.

What Ligue 1 games are on TV this weekend?

There are plenty of exciting Gameweek 3 matches – here are all the games being broadcast on UK and US TV:

Fri 20 August

  • Brest vs PSG – KO 9pm CET/8pm BST/3pm ET/12pm PST – BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS

Sat 21 August

  • Monaco vs Lens – KO 4pm CET/3pm BST/10am ET/7am PST – BeIN SPORTS
  • St Etienne vs Lille – KO 9pm CET/8pm BST/3pm ET/12pm PST – BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS

Sun 22 August

  • Lyon vs Clermont – KO 1pm CET/12pm BST/7am ET/4am PST – BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS
  • Montpellier vs Lorient – KO 3pm CET/2pm BST/9am ET/6am PST – BeIN SPORTS
  • Metz vs Reims – KO 3pm CET/2pm BST/9am ET/6am PST – BeIN SPORTS
  • Bordeaux vs Angers – KO 3pm CET/2pm BST/9am ET/6am PST – BT Sport
  • Rennes vs Nantes – KO 5pm CET/4pm BST/11am ET/8am PST – BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS
  • Nice vs Marseille – KO 8.45pm CET/7.45pm BST/2.45pm ET/11.45am PST – BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS

How to watch Ligue 1 in the UK

BT Sport is the exclusive broadcaster for Ligue 1 in the UK, with up to five matches shown live every gameweek. That’s a total of  matches throughout the season.

There are a few options when signing up to BT Sport, firstly by taking BT Broadband. Put your postcode into the website to see what deals are available.

On the TV side, prices start at £7.50 per month for six months and you’ll get all four BT Sport channels and BoxNation.

You can also just use the BT Sport app – works on mobile, tablet, smart TV and console – and buy the Monthly Pass for £25pm. Depending on your device, you’ll still be able to watch in up to 4K HDR quality.

Sky customers can get BT Sport added from £29.99pm. BT also offers a combined package with Sky Sports via Now, which is £20pm for six months on a half-price deal. The VIP package adds even more, including Sky Cinema, for £65pm.

View all of the BT Sport packages here.

How to watch Ligue 1 in the US

In the US, BeIN Sports is the main broadcaster of Ligue 1. However, there are plenty of options when it comes to signing up.

The cheapest method is via Sling TV, one of the most popular streaming services in the US. You’ll first need to sign up to Sling Orange or Sling Blue plan – both cost $35 per month, or $50 if you want both. You’ll then need to pay an extra $10 for the World Sports add-on – this also gets you access to Premiere, beIN Sports Connect, Willow HD, Willow Xtra, and Nautical Channel.

After a free trial period (which varies between three and seven days), it means you’ll pay at least $45 per month to access BeIN Sports.

FuboTV is another option. The FuboTV Starter package includes BeIN Sports, alongside more than 100 other channels. It’ll cost you $64.99 per month, although you can cancel any time. There’s also a free trial here for new customers, lasting seven days.

As you can see, watching Ligue 1 from the US doesn’t come cheap.

How to watch Ligue 1 with a VPN

If you have a subscription from the UK or US but are currently based abroad, it makes sense to use your existing plan. Both BT Sport and BeIN SPORTS are geo-restricted, meaning you can only officially use them in the countries where you pay.

However, a VPN (virtual private network) offers an easy workaround. Unblocking content is one of its most popular uses, with various servers that allow you to ‘appear’ in another country with a new IP address.

All the best VPNs have multiple servers in the UK and US, with dedicated streaming servers in some cases. Our top pick is NordVPN, which offers a great combination of ease of use, security features and value for money.

Once connected, you should be able to use the site or app as normal.

Related articles for further reading


Source: www.techadvisor.com